Professor Mike Ryan

Mike joined the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Monash University in 2014. Before this, he was at La Trobe University (2000-2014) including as head of the Department of Biochemistry (2010-2013). Mike has always had an interest in mitochondrial biology, starting as a PhD student with Peter Hoj and Nick Hoogenraad (La Trobe/Adelaide) and then as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow with Klaus Pfanner (Freiburg, Germany). Mike is president of the Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB, 2015-2016) and also was a reviewing editor for the Journal of Biological Chemistry (2013-2016). He serves on a number of committees including as a member for the Scientific and Medical Advisory Panel for the Australian Mitochondria Disease Foundation (AMDF) and on the National Committee for Biomedical Science, AAS.

Links: ORCID - Google Scholar - Twitter

Dr Luke Formosa

Post-Doc - luke.formosa (at)

Luke Formosa studied his Bachelor of Biomedical Science/Bachelor of Science double degree at La Trobe University before joining Mike’s lab in 2011 as an honours and then PhD student. Completing his PhD in 2016, Luke is now a post-doc in the Ryan lab, working on aspects of mitochondrial complex I biogenesis in health and disease.

Links: Google Scholar - ORCID

Dr. Cristina Ugalde

Guest Researcher - cristina.ugaldebilbao (at)


Cristina is tenured principal investigator at the Laboratory of Mitochondrial and Neuromuscular Disorders at Hospital Doce de Octubre Research Institute, i+12 (Madrid, Spain). Over the last years her research group has extensively worked on the regulatory processes that modulate the biogenesis of the mitochondrial OXPHOS system in health and disease, particularly in the assembly pathways of respiratory chain complexes and supercomplexes, as well as on the identification and functional characterization of potential biomarkers for respiratory chain disorders. Cristina joined the Ryan lab in January 2018 to complement her work on complex I assembly in the context of the biogenesis of mitochondrial supercomplexes, and to investigate novel diagnostic approaches for respiratory chain deficiencies. 

Links: Google Scholar  ResearchGate


Madeleine Garrett

Research Assistant - madeleine.garrett (at)

Maddy studied a Bachelor of Science at Monash University and graduated in 2014 with majors in biochemistry, molecular biology, and zoology. A deep interest in gene editing technology drew her to undertake her honours in the Ryan lab. Her project involved work with inner membrane import and export proteins in the mitochondria, and after completing the year she was hired as a full time research assistant for the lab.

Alice Sharpe

Alice Sharpe-final.jpg

Research Assistant - (at)

Alice completed a Bachelor of Science at Monash University in 2017, majoring in genetics and molecular biology. She undertook her honours year at the Hudson Institute of Medical Research under the supervision of Dr. Mat McKenzie, investigating physical interactions between mitochondrial fatty acid β-oxidation (FAO) and oxidative phosphorylation (OXPHOS) protein complexes. Her continued interest in mitochondrial biology lead her to join the Ryan lab as a research assistant in 2018.

See also: ORCID

Linden Muellner-Wong


Research Assistant - linden.muellner-wong (at)

Linden graduated with a Bachelor of Science from the Australian National University, Canberra, in 2017. She completed her honours year as a member of the Biomedical Science and Biochemistry division at the ANU Research School of Biology, under the supervision of Dr Giel van Dooren. There, she investigated the function of novel mitochondrial proteins found exclusively in Apicomplexan parasites, such as Toxoplasma gondii and Plasmodium falciparum (malaria). She joined the Ryan lab the following year as a research assistant to continue her interest in teasing apart mitochondrial biology.  

Marris Dibley

PhD student - marris.dibley (at)

Marris completed a Bachelor of Commerce at the University of Tasmania in 2009 before moving to Melbourne in 2012 to study a Bachelor of Science at Monash University. He completed his undergraduate qualifications with a focus on biochemistry and genetics prior to undertaking his Honours in Mike’s lab. After finishing his degree in 2015, Marris commenced his doctoral studies in 2016. Marris’ PhD focuses on the assembly of mitochondrial complex I in health and disease, with a particular interest in identifying and characterising novel assembly factors.  

See also: ORCID

Felix Kraus

PhD student - felix.kraus (at)

Felix Kraus undertook his Bachelor of Science at the Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich, Germany focusing on genetics in plant-microbe interactions. During his Masters degree in Munich, his research focus shifted to epigenetics and advanced light microscopy. After working several months in the research laboratories of Dr Peter Mergaert in Paris and Dr Lothar Schermelleh in Oxford during his Masters, he returned to Munich, finishing his degree in the laboratory of Prof Heinrich Leonhardt. Following a 6 months period working at the EMBL Australia in the laboratory of Prof Katharina Gaus and Jeremie Rossy at UNSW, he joined the Ryan lab as a PhD student in March 2016 where he studies mitochondrial dynamics and morphology.

See also: ORCID - Google Scholar

Valerie Lisnyak


Honours student - vlis2 (at)

Valerie completed her Bachelor of Science/Biomedical Science in 2018, majoring in developmental biology and zoology. In 2017 she worked as a casual laboratory assistant in the Ryan lab, sparking her interest in mitochondrial research. In 2018 she decided to join the team as an honours student. Currently, Valerie’s honours project involves investigating the MICOS complex in the mitochondria.



Baobei Lyu (PhD student, Beijing University of Technology, China)

Dr David Stroud (lab head, Melbourne University / Bio21)

Dr Lars Ellenrieder (postdoc, Pfanner Lab / Becker Lab, University of Freiburg)

Dr Ju Lin Tan

Dr Sandra Hakim

Dr Laura Osellame (research fellow, Hoogenraad Lab, La Trobe University)

Elliot Surgenor (research assistant, Huntington lab, WEHI)

Dr Abeer Singh (postdoc, Ott lab, Sweden)

Dr Boris Reljic (postdoc, Vaux lab, WEHI)

Dr Thanh Nguyen (postdoc, Lazarou lab, Monash University)

Dr Catherine Palmer (Microscopy manager, Burnet Institute)

Dr Xioanan Wang (La Trobe University)

Dr Viviane Richter (Engagement Manager, Biomedical Research Victoria)

Dr Kirstin Elgass (Monash Micro imaging)

Dr Ved Mooga (postdoc, Alabama USA)

Dr Mat McKenzie (ARC Future fellow, lab head Hudson Institute)

Dr Michael Lazarou (postdoc, Youle lab, NIH USA; now lab head, Monash Uni)

Dr Ann Frazier (NHMRC CDA fellow, Thorburn lab, MCRI)

Dr Michael Baker (AvH fellow, Langer lab, Cologne, now Project Manager, Hexima Ltd)

Dr Olga Koutsopoulos (postdoc, Strasbourg, now Project Manager, Inserm U1110)

Dr Christopher Dunning (postdoc, Lund University, UK)

Dr Diana Stojanovski (AvH fellow, Pfanner lab, Germany; now group leader, Bio21)

Dr Amelia Johnson (postdoc, La Trobe University)